Annual Awards Luncheon

Annual Awards Luncheon

A salute to North Texas hospital trustees and leaders, the Annual Awards Luncheon takes place every fall and honors individuals who have made an historic impact on local healthcare. The program features nationally known keynote speakers.

Annual Awards Luncheon 2014 Keynote Speaker

Jon Meacham

In his most recent book, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Jon Meacham wrote about Thomas Jefferson, a man in a rapidly changing world who understood the art of power. He will discuss this historic expertise on October 21 in support of the theme “The Art of Good Healthcare” at the Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council’s 66th Annual Awards Luncheon. Meacham is the author of the No. 1 bestseller “Thomas Jefferson: The Art of Power,” named one of the best books of the year by The New York Times. Meacham received the Pulitzer Prize for “American Lion,” his bestselling 2008 biography of Andrew Jackson. Meacham is a former editor of Newsweek and a regular television guest on Meet the Press, Morning Joe and Charlie Rose. He and his wife live with their three children in Nashville.

2014 Distinguished Health Service Award

Florence Shapiro

Dr. Wright L. Lassiter, Jr.

Known to North Texas residents as “Mr. Public Servant,” Dr. Wright Lassiter, Jr. has been chosen by the Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council as the 2014 recipient of the Distinguished Health Service Award. Dr. Lassiter entered the Dallas County Community College District (DCCCD) in 1986 as president of El Centro College. After 20 years, he was chosen for the role of DCCCD chancellor, serving from 2006 until his retirement in 2014. His accomplishments include the launching of the school’s first medical campus and completing the largest capital improvement bond program in Dallas District history of $450 million. Dr. Lassiter was instrumental in forming partnerships with area hospital systems to accelerate graduation from the Dallas system colleges with associate degree nursing programs. He led the formation of the District Health Resources Center, serving as an entry point for students interested in allied health and nursing careers. Dr. Lassiter and his late wife were married 55 years and they had a son and a daughter. His son Wright Lassiter, III, is the CEO of Alameda Health System.

2013 Premier Sponsors:

Former Distinguished Health Service Award Recipients:

  • T. Boone Pickens
  • Mayor Mike and Rosie Moncrief
  • Val Wilkie, Jr.
  • Ray and Nancy Ann Hunt
  • Ross and Margot Perot

Former Boone Powell, Sr.
Award recipients:

  • Joel Allison
  • J.C. Montgomery, Jr.
  • Ron J. Anderson, MD
  • George D. Farr
  • Douglas Hawthorne

Former Annual Awards Luncheon Keynote Speakers:

  • James Carville and Mary Matalin
  • Ted Koppel
  • Joe Scarborough
  • Newt Gingrich
  • Buzz Aldrin
  • Norman Schwarzkopf
  • Margaret Thatcher
  • Colin Powell
  • Henry Kissinger
  • David Brinkley